Quorum Court meets second time to vote on ordinances

It took a second meeting, but the Saline County Quorum Court finally addressed its August meeting agenda.

A previous meeting failed to draw a quorum and the eight justices of the peace in attendance at that session could not legally vote on ordinances. Nine members of the 13-member body are required for such votes.

The JPs had initially believed they could vote on the ordinances by suspending the rules, then taking three separate votes on readings of the ordinances while eliminating an emergency clause. They later found out this does not meet the requirements.

"Nine votes are actually required to suspend the rules," County Clerk Doug Curtis explained.

On Tuesday night, the JPs approved an ordinance related to the election process.

The ordinance, which was recommended by the court's Finance and Personnel Committee, notes that on Election Day paper ballots and IVotronic voting systems will be in place at each polling site.

Voters with handicapping conditions governed by the Americans with Disabilities Act will have the option of using either system to cast their ballots, according to the ordinance.

Curtis pointed out that the ordinance amends a prior ordinance requiring paper ballots only on election day.

The other ordinance that came before the court transfers $7,932 in jail construction funds and $10,000 in sheriff's retention funds to the jail fund.

The JPs also voted to approve resolutions authorizing the acceptance of continuation funds for the 2014-15 STOP grant program, which provides funds to investigate domestic violence cases; and authorizing the acceptance of continuation funds for the 2014-15 VOCA grant program, which provides funding for victim justice and assistance and certified law enforcement personnel.

The county match for both is met primary with volunteer hours.

The court failed to approve an ordinance that would have appropriated $80,000 in county road funds.
Voting against the ordinance were JPs James Zahnd, Dr. Allan Dabbs and Mark Kizer; and JPs Jim Whitley, Josh Curtis, Tammy Schmidt and Jim Whitley were was not present for the session.

The county clerk presented the JPs a copy of the Election Commission's certification of a petition showing that the required number of signatures were obtained to allow an issue on the November election ballot.

The measure asks county residents to vote on whether to allow the sale and manufacture of alcoholic beverages in Saline County. The law states that 38 percent of the eligible voters in a county must sign the petition before it can become a ballot issue.

The commission's document notes that 25,653 valid signatures were obtained.

No action from the JPs was required, but the document becomes part of the court record.

The commission's document is signed by Lib Carlisle, chairman; and Commissioners Judy Pridgen and Brett Hooten.